Tags

, ,

I must confess! Although I listen to classical music and I really do enjoy it, I am never able to say which is which. Who composed this or that. At times it can be more than frustrating! It happens once in a while to hear some classical piece as a background music for a scene in a movie and to wonder ”What is this? I know it! I really do, but who is the composer? What is its name?” Most of the time I get no answer. I wish I could ask someone! Mum, who was a real connaiseur, well… She is no more. That makes me even sadder what such a thing happens.

But there is piece that whenever and wherever I listen to it, I recognize it instantly. It is Thomaso Albinoni’s Adagio. (Well, it is said that it is Remo Giazotto’s Adagio. But who cares about that?!) It is sad. Well, G minor might be a hint that is noting close to joyful. Every time I listen to it, I find myself thinking about Mother and people that left this world. Truth being said I used to listen to it a lot in the first year after her death. Although it saddens me, it soothes me at the same time.

Today I was a bit lazy, a bit lonely… Nothing was happening and I needed some musical stimuli to raise up my mood. That’s why I began skimming what people posted in a group dedicated to classical music. There was this link:

Oh, it only open my appetite! And one thing leading to another, I began listening to:

Which led just naturally to my favourite:

Looking for a HD version, I discovered: which I find strange, but interesting. I do not pretend to be more than I am, so, please excuse me if I am wrong.  I think he plays it using a bit too many pauses (is he playing stacatto?), which makes the whole sound less fluid, but it certainly adds some dramatic effect. Plus the strained accents. This version could be used successfully into horror movies, maybe… Some dark, gothic church as a background, maybe?

In the end, I listened to  which seems a very soft, delicate interpretation. It makes it less angsty.

Is it redundant to say I enjoyed Karajan version the most? But I liked all of them.

A soft transition was made by listening to the guitar version  which reminded me some older version – I wish I remember the guitarist – that I used to listen to a lot, a couple of years ago. The video made me weep a little. I seldom pay attention to the videos, because I listen to music while doing different other things, but this one caught me the attention long enough to make my heart flutter.

And in the end, I could not go away without listening to the modern reinterpretation of this masterpiece. Although I am not at all a fan of pop-opera, I find quite enjoyable Sissel’s version: 

The cherry on top of everything was one of my favourite modern songs: . (I have read that Remo Giazotto almost prevented her from releasing this song. How unfair it would have been!) Lara Fabian is one of the closest to my heart. Not only that she has a great voice, but she expresses dramatically the core of the songs she plays – some may argue that she is overdramatic. But for my this means colour, being involved heart, soul and body into the music she creates.

This is how I spent my Sunday. In the end it was pleasant and uplifting, getting me ready for a new week of hard work.

